An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Fernando Fernandez

Puerto Rico Ambassador

Name:  Fernando Fernandez

Hometown:  Guaynabo                        

Email Address:

Business Position:  Retired

Civilian Education: 

BBA-Accounting, University of Puerto Rico

National Security Fellow, Maxwell School, Syracuse University


President, Pan American Union of Armed Forces Reserve Officers (UPORFA)

President, Puerto Rico Distinguished Veterans Hall of Fame

Co-Chairman, Fort Buchanan Retired Soldier Council

Member, Orders and Medals Society of America (OMSA)

Civilian Honors:

Academician, Puerto Rico Academy of Arts and Sciences

Academician, Ibero American Scientific and Culture Academy

Demonstrated Master Logistician Designation, International Society of Logistics

Military Retirement Rank and Date, Service and Key Positions:

Retired as Brigadier General on 3 May 2015

Commanding General, 1st Mission Support Command, 2009-2013

Group Commander, 166th Regional Support Group 2006-2009

Director of Logistics, Victory Base Garrison Command Complex, Iraq, 2004-2005

Army Reserve Ambassador Fernando Fernandez worked with Citibank, NA Country Cor-porate Office in Puerto Rico in a variety of financial accounting managerial positions for almost 20 years. Additionally, he served for 32 years in the Army Reserve as a Quarter-master and Logistics Corps officer. His military education includes a master’s degree in strategic studies from the Army War College, the Army’s Associate Logistics Executive Development Course and the Canadian Security Studies Program. He currently serves as president of the Pan American Union of Armed Forces Reserve Officers (UPORFA), an organization that mentors the development of reserve officers and their institutions in the Western Hemisphere and whose membership include the countries of Argentina, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Paraguay, Peru and the United States.