Spc. David Obray 2008 Army Solider of the Year2008:  Spc. David Obray

WASHINGTON – For the first time in the seven-year history of the Department of the Army NCO and Soldier of the Year “Best Warrior” Competition, an Army Reserve Soldier has won top honors.

Spc. David Obray was one of 12 junior enlisted Soldiers representing the major Army commands at the five-day competition held at Fort Lee, Va.

His selection as the top Soldier was announced at the Sergeant Major of the Army luncheon at the Association of the United States Army annual convention on Oct. 6, 2008, in Washington, D.C.

In the end, Obray won the competition by conquering urban warfare simulations, board interviews, essays, physical fitness tests and Warrior Tasks and Battle Drills relevant to today’s current operating environment.

“My fellow competitors were outstanding individuals and there is no doubt I will see them again,” he said. “From the beginning, my mindset was this is a lot of training and I looked forward to bringing it back to my unit.”

Sgt. 1st Class Jason Manella, 2013 Army NCO of the Year2013:  Sgt. 1st Class Jason Manella

FORT LEE, Va. – When the Sgt. Maj. of the Army Raymond Chandler III announced Sgt. 1st Class Jason Manella, an Army Reserve civil affairs specialist from the 445th Civil Affairs Battalion, as the 2013 Department of the Army Noncommissioned Officer of the Year during the DA Best Warrior Competition here, Manella was frozen and in complete shock. 

“I was hoping to come in second or third because I am with such great competitors that I had no confidence that I was beating them in any way. So when they called my name, it was such a surprise that it definitely took a minute to comprehend.”

“It is an honor and I want to represent other traumatic brain injury wounded warriors and speed them into recovery,” added Manella.

Staff Sgt. Andrew Fink 2015 Army NCO of the Year2015:  Staff Sgt. Andrew Fink

WASHINGTON – For the fourth time in nine years, a U.S. Army Reserve Soldier has been named the U.S. Army’s Best Warrior.

Staff Sgt. Andrew Fink, a healthcare specialist with the 409th Area Support Medical Company, 807th Medical Command (Deployment Support), was named the U.S. Army Noncommissioned Officer of the Year, Oct. 12, after competing in the weeklong Best Warrior competition held at Fort A.P. Hill, Virginia.

Fink is the second U.S. Army Reserve NCO to claim the title in the last three years.

The Cook, Minnesota, native earned his spot at the Army-level competition after winning the U.S. Army Reserve Best Warrior competition at Fort Bragg, N.C., in May.

Sgt. 1st Class Joshua Moeller 2016 Army NCO of the Year2016:  Sgt. 1st Class Joshua Moeller

WASHINGTON (Army News Service) – Winners of the Best Warrior competition are: Sgt. 1st Class Joshua Moeller, named NCO of the Year; and Spc. Robert Miller, named Soldier of the Year.

The winners were announced Oct. 3 during the Association of the United States Army Annual Meeting and Exposition.

Almost immediately following the announcement, the two Soldiers commented on the win and what it means to be a Soldier and a Best Warrior.